pbsthisdayinhistory:

July 20, 1969: First Man Walks on the Moon
On this day in 1969, the spaceflight Apollo 11 landed the first humans, Americans Neil Armstrong and Buzz Aldrin, on the moon.  People watched worldwide as Armstrong took that momentous first step onto the moon, declaring, “This is one small step for a man, one giant leap for mankind.”
One does not simply land on the moon wearing a t-shirt and jeans.  See how these Historic Space Suits evolved to allow a successful landing on the moon!

Photo:  NASA

It is easy to forget that most of the technology that we have today spun out of NASA’s research.

pbsthisdayinhistory:

July 20, 1969: First Man Walks on the Moon

On this day in 1969, the spaceflight Apollo 11 landed the first humans, Americans Neil Armstrong and Buzz Aldrin, on the moon.  People watched worldwide as Armstrong took that momentous first step onto the moon, declaring, “This is one small step for a man, one giant leap for mankind.”

One does not simply land on the moon wearing a t-shirt and jeans.  See how these Historic Space Suits evolved to allow a successful landing on the moon!


Photo:  NASA

It is easy to forget that most of the technology that we have today spun out of NASA’s research.

fastcompany:


The more polarized we become, the stronger we feel a sense of belonging, and the more assured we are of our place in space. Imagine going to a football game and vacillating about which team you support. Chances are the real fans of both teams would shun you. “You’re either with us or against us”—a very useful phrase for momentum building and crowd growing. 

How Enemies Power Innovation

fastcompany:

The more polarized we become, the stronger we feel a sense of belonging, and the more assured we are of our place in space. Imagine going to a football game and vacillating about which team you support. Chances are the real fans of both teams would shun you. “You’re either with us or against us”—a very useful phrase for momentum building and crowd growing. 

How Enemies Power Innovation

Don’t miss Terrorists At The Bus Stop FREE promotion in the Kindle Store

Wednesday Through Friday of this week Terrorist At The Bus Stop will be Free in the Kindle Store at http://amzn.com/B007X65GO4 .

I asked my wife to read Terrorists At The Bus Stop and comment

She was the perfect collaborator.  Her instincts for the sections of the book that needed refinement or a change of tone were spot on.  Her suggestions for changes were even better.  It is a much better book after incorporating her ideas.  It reminded me why our marriage has survived 40 years…yes she was a young child when I married her.

Writing Terrorists At The Bus Stop has been an awesome experience

The process of writing the book was a long journey (read: many, many rewrites).  It took a while for the complicated story line to gel in my mind.  The characters had to find “their” voice. (more rewrites).  As the story line came together and the character of the story developed, I realized that things were happening in the story out of sequence (yup a couple more rewrites…LOL).  By this point I am wondering if the story will ever get to where it needs to be.  With the next reading of the book it had a very finished feel to it.  And  then I asked my wife to read it…

This is my view as I work on marketing strategy for Terrorists At The Bus Stop. What an awesome distraction.

This is my view as I work on marketing strategy for Terrorists At The Bus Stop. What an awesome distraction.

Terrorists At The Bus Stop will be available in the Kindle Store tomorrow

Terrorists have kidnapped thirty four children in two weeks from across the US. They are the children of the most powerful families in the country. The children were all taken in broad daylight near their school bus stop leaving virtually no clues. The lack of contact from the kidnappers makes the Terrorist Task Force worry about the kidnapper’s motives. The lack of clues and intense pressure from the public and media has frayed the nerves of the leadership of Homeland Security’s Terrorist Task Force. A body is discovered floating in Charleston SC harbor by Ray Gomez, the 13 year old son of Gabriel Gomez, the new Chief of Detectives of the Charleston SC Police Department. As Gabby follows a clue in the murder case she is thrust into a gun battle that leaves a landmark Charleston restaurant littered with dead and wounded. Their only clue is in a locked FBI file. Gabby’s boss, Police Chief O’Malley, battles with the Director of the FBI over the identity of one of perpetrators. Chief O’Malley learns from the Director of the FBI that the violence in Charleston is part of a terrorist campaign. The man that Gabby Gomez killed in the restaurant is the first substantial clue in the kidnapping cases. As the FBI Director briefs Chief O’Malley about the danger Gabby and her son Ray are in from the dead man’s family, a powerful explosion rocks Charleston Harbor. Can Gabby and the Terrorism Task Force save the children from a fate worse than death? McCormick has written a page turner in the tradition of James Patterson, Clive Cussler and Vince Flynn. Terrorists at the Bus Stop is a tightly woven plot filled with intricate twists and turns.

Just finished editing my new novel Terrorists At The Bus Stop.  Awesome feeling!

Just finished editing my new novel Terrorists At The Bus Stop.  Awesome feeling!